Search A-Z Services: A B C D E F H I L M N O P R S T W

Municipality awards Top 50 companies for their contribution

Fifty of Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality’s top performing businesses walked away with top honours in the inaugural Top 50 Award, a municipal incentive initiative to recognize excellence, at a ceremony in Newton Park today.

Volkswagen SA, Shatterprufe and pharmaceutical company Aspen excelled in multiple categories such as being top investors, employers and significant exporters over a number of years in the region.

Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality Executive Mayor Dr Danny Jordaan acknowledged the crucial role played by businesses to boost the economy and encouraged the business sector to keep investing in the metro in order to achieve the goals of eradicating poverty, unemployment, and inequality.

"The Metro now has RI,7 billion in the bank, and if Council decides to continue in this vein, it will stabilise and strengthen the financial position of the metro even further.

"This morning is about you, our local businesses.We are here to celebrate the fact that you have worked hard in your different companies. We would like to congratulate all of you; your achievements bring forth the spirit of resilience, vision and action which is a living aspiration for all of us to attain.

"So as we congratulate you we also celebrate the fact that in your different work environments and your sectors, you remain an inspiration for us to work hard to make this place, a place we can all love to live in,” Mayor Jordaan said.

The Top 50 Award is based on the municipality’s trade and investment strategy to retain and recognize investors, past and present, as well as companies which serve the city in terms of economic development and growth through driving competitive growth in key sectors and creating thousands of sustainable employment opportunities.

Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality Acting City Manager Johann Mettler said: "I would like to take this opportunity to thank the business sector, for allowing us this opportunity to celebrate them and their achievements. Our doors are open as the municipality to discuss and share ideas of growing our economy even further.”

Recipients of an award for top employer and being long standing investors are: Johnson Controls, Goodyear, Coca-Cola, Continental, Powertech Group, Transnet Group, General Motors South Africa and Ford.

In the category top investor Innowind (renewable energy), Boardwalk Sun International and the Coega Industrial Development Zone were recognized.

National Oilwell Varco received an award for being a top exporter and long standing investor in the region.

Sundays River Citrus Coop, Howden Donkin, SJM Flex, Jendamark, BKB, Stucken Group, Dynamic Commodities and Lumotech received recognition as top exporters.

Long standing investor: Afrox, PPC Ltd, Bridgestone, Welfit Oddy, Bagshaw Footwear and Cerebos.

New investor: Lighting Innovation, Air Products, Coega Dairy, Discovery Health, AGNI Rolling Mill, Baywest Mall and First Automotive Works.

Long standing entrepreneur: Ukuvula Investment Holdings, Mayibuye Fishing, Yenza Manufacturing, Tavcor Motor Group, Eastern Cape Motors, Vantyi & Vantyi, McWilliams & Elliot, Phil Gutsche, Headbush Family and Stephen Dondolo.

LR Engineering were recognized as a newcomer entrepreneur whilst Bay companies Supercare and Federal Mogul SA received awards as top employers.

The Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality would like to see this award become an annual institution.


Issued on behalf of the Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality by Acting Communications Director Kupido Baron (041 506 1500 / 082 780 2726 / / @kupidobaron).


* required fields

* required fields

* required fields